Expensive Toys for Kids Nowadays

15 Apr

My cousin just had his 7th birthday this weekend. Me and BF couldn’t come to the (blessing) party due to a thing or two, and cousin’s mother gave us her permission not to come to her son’s (blessing) party by buying the cousin foosball as forgiveness-birthday-gift.

ImageSeriously dear 7 years old cousin? Are you gonna rob me or what?

Haha. *stressing out*

Remembering the old times and reading back my old post in bahasa indonesia in here, the expensive toy I had when I was a little kid in elementary school was probably full-set-Lego. Mom bought me roller skate when I was a bigger kid in elementary school, but it wasn’t even costed a hundred dollar back then. When tamagotchi or otopet was a hip in early 2000, I didn’t even have them.

Does it really have to be foosball? 2 years ago, he asked for remote controlled helicopter. Last year, he asked for iPad. Kid these days, ckckck. I can’t imagine how will the era of my kid in the future will be.

I’m actually glad my cousin could get away from his latest-expensive-toy, iPad. Believe me, I had my personal laptop back in 2006 when I was in college. And I didn’t see it as expensive toy that time, just gadget that I needed to support my college time. Him and his iPad? Play time.

Should parents nowadays buy expensive toys to compensate their children not to play only with gadgets?

*

Dear cousin, in hollywood movie that I watched in my teenager time, foosball is located only at the bar or cafe. It’s a game to play when hang out with friends. Not something that they own personally at their house, or even place it in their bedroom. No matter how spoiled brat they are, except for Richie Rich. Maybe.

Bottomline is, please consider to request another birthday gift, would you? :p

Sincerely, your-outdated-and-flat-broke-cousin.

4 Responses to “Expensive Toys for Kids Nowadays”

  1. Volverhank April 15, 2013 at 8:43 pm #

    hahaha beliin yang murah aja seharusnya kayak buku gambar dan crayon, biar imajinasi yang menjadi hadiah terbaik buat dia😛

  2. sikiky April 18, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

    akhirnya dibeliin apa?

  3. gingerbreadandtea April 21, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

    lol, kids this day :)) even elementary kids have much more expensive gadgets than i have! sobs.. but i don’t envy them.. my childhood was much better with my lompat tali, sepedaan,masak2an, and all those traditional games back then!😀 but can’t blame them cz it’s all about technology nowadays /shrugs ,

  4. adizone23 April 21, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

    if I were you, I wouldn’t buy foosball for him. I’d rahter give him an alternative birthday gift instead. probably something that can use for him such as book or shoes.

Leave a Reply

