Social Networking: How Does It Affect My Life?

30 Nov

This blog entry was intended to be posted for TBI Social Networking 2011 writing contest. But since I couldn’t find the link on its facebook and web page, hence this entry is posted to show someone out there the extra mile. Hope it’s okay, beb.🙂

*
At this point of time, I divide my life into pre-boyfriend and post-boyfriend eras. Pre-boyfriend era ended on July this year when I was officially dating my current boyfriend. Post-boyfriend era, with many fights, tears, smiles, loves, and struggles, is still continue until now. Let’s hope there will be happy ending for us both, amen.❤

The fights and struggles were merely because boyfriend and I are basically different types of person. Cliche, I know, but it’s true. One of the difference is I’m a spare-time-blogger (micro or a complete one), somehow by default I engage with social media alot. Boyfriend in the other hand is someone who, I’m borrowing his word, lives in the real life, unlike me who’s trapped in the cyber world alot.

Pre-boyfriend era was me and my gadgets all the time. Though I socially hanged out and had fun with friends, my hand will never be emptied from my handphone and or my laptop. My twitter account never fall to be updated once in an hour, if not every minutes, even when I was attending a class in college. I knew my friends’ condition by reading through their tweets, not by personally contacting them or so. I even knew alot about celebtwit’s circle of life, the ones that I never met of. More like a stalker, yes I’m aware of that.

Post-boyfriend era means me and boyfriend only, like ALL the time. Less time to update my status on twitter even to hold my handphone more than 5 minutes. Most of the time, when I’m with him, my handphone is safely placed in my bag. How does it feel to have a smartphone in your bag but not be able to use it because of some restriction which is not related to phone credit?

At first, it felt weird to not hold my handphone at my palm anywhere I go. But by the time being, the truth is, I miss nothing. With less time to play with my handphone thus less time to be enganged on twitter, I actually more enganged with my surroundings. At least, I was becoming more aware with people who are physically around me, like people on the side road, those in the same public transportation with me, and the like.

In pre-boyfriend era, in every chance I had, I’ll look at my handphone’s screen the most, just to read people that I follow’s recent tweets, even when I was in the public transportation. I couldn’t hear when the street musicians sang because it just consumed my attention. I wouldn’t noticed if there’s anything happened outside the window (read: in the real world).

In post-boyfriend era, I learned that even a slightest attention to those street musicians, even if we didn’t give them any money, is meaningful for them. Just smile politely, and they’ll smile back at us. Which is meaningful for me too, because I looked and heard more than something I seen on mobile phone screen. There’s a feeling I couldn’t explain everytime I see stranger’s sincere smile.

The one thing that holding me back to never lost contact with twitter is the fact that I got my current job because of it, I owe it THAT much. I read a tweet about job opening in my current company through someone’s timeline. I applied, tested, and accepted to work here until present time.

Social media costed me time I should’ve spent more wisely in the past, but it paid back by giving me a job to work for at the moment. So what does it affect me? You decide.🙂

6 Responses to “Social Networking: How Does It Affect My Life?”

  1. sky November 30, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    it costs so many thing😀

  2. inin December 1, 2011 at 5:04 am #

    cooool😀

  3. volverhank December 2, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    wah kok ada pre-boyfriend and post-boyfriend nya ni, haha jd kayak ngerasa terbebani dong

  4. Kontraktor December 6, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    nice post….

    nice to meet you..

  5. dieka December 7, 2011 at 8:31 am #

    *ngangguk-ngangguk* #biardisangkangerti

  6. winnie December 12, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    haha .. it’s challenging to balance life🙂

Leave a Reply

