Happy Birthday, Mom!

29 Oct

My big family always tell me how identical my face is with Mom’s young face. When I was a kid, they say I looked the same with the face of Mom when she was a baby girl. From 1 to 10, the identicalness of me and the younger image of Mom is 9. By the time I grew up, we’re no longer that identic, but still, our  look alikeness always surprise my big family.

In fact, I am the only kid on my family who ever had a bright skin, like Mom has. Only by the time flew by, my skin is getting darker just like Dad. I have no one to blame but the whether of my childhood area. Cousin of my late GrandPa said when I met him again after several years,
GrandPa’s Cousin (GC): Eh..? You’re the white cute little girl who visited me years ago? What happened to your white skin?
Big Family: (laughing)
Me: (blushing)
GPC: Perhaps because you lived in a dry sunny place, surrounded by palm trees, and lived above the oil..?

I guessed so.

Back to Mom. Just like my Dad, she also didn’t come from a wealthy family. But she was lucky to had GrandPa and GrandMa who concerned about education much. They did everything they could to provide their kids with good education no matter how hard the family financial situation was. Though GrandMa was a teacher, it was GrandPa who accompanied Mom and her siblings through their studies alot. Let me tell you this in another story.

Grown up in a family like this, Mom concerns alot about me and my siblings’ studies more than Dad does. She likes to take us to the bookstore and spend time there than to the shopping center. She also encourages us to buy more books and read them than to spend the money on food, for example. She chooses the send me and siblings to the courses than to buy jewelries on it.

She always put her kids’ education, as well as our other needs, as top priorities and put aside her own needs, because she loves us that much. I really adore her for this one. For her, her main responsibility as wife and mother is to educate her children, while father is the one (though not the only one) who should support family’s financial. Therefore when my sister moved from ITB to UI, or when brother was only able to attend UI not ITB (click here to read more), she blamed and took hard on herself alot.

Did you know there are actually only 3 responsibilities as parents?

They are to raise the kids well, to educate the kids well, and to make sure the kids find their best partners of life. Mom agrees of this kind of belief. There was this sudden moment in the middle of my discussion with Mom,
Mom: It’s okay to pend to have our own house after Ekal‘s graduation, right?
Me: 4 years from now? Yea… okay, fine for me. As long as it’s okay for you to live in that rent house.
Mom: No problem.
(silent)
Mom: For me, the most important thing right now is you and siblings could finish your colleges. The rest can wait.
Me: (in mind: oh shoot, she’s going to point to my unclear graduation day)
Mom: After your brother’s graduation, my responsibility is over. Perhaps I could just die. I’m fine if God takes my breath the moment after that. I know your Dad could handle the rest.
Me: (i was going to say jokingly: but maybe I haven’t married yet that day, but damn, she was serious and in a deep tears)
Me: Careful with what you’re saying, okay Mom.

In some stages, me and Mom also share the same characteristics. That’s why we always need Dad to calm us when we argue obstinately at the same time. In fact, she’s the one who has arguments with me alot. Probably because, no matter how much I love and adore her, in some points I don’t want to be like her, or to become her, not even to follow her track. She supports me through the latest, actually. She hopes me to be far more better than her, the hope that I also have towards my sister.

For all the things she did and she didn’t do to me, I do love her alot. I love you Mom, more than I ever showed you. I really hope I can make you proud of me in your life time. Because I do proud to be your daughter.

Happy birthday, Mom! Love you more than anything in the world.

Beloved, your proud daughter.

Beauty beholds on those who see🙂

to read about my sister’s birthday-related post, click here

28 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Mom!”

  1. arman October 29, 2010 at 1:08 am #

    happy bday ya buat mamanya!🙂

  2. edda October 29, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    happy bday yaa

  3. Elisa October 29, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    Happy Birthday to your mom. She’s beautiful. Reading your post this time reminds me of Amy tan’s novel.

    • nadiafriza November 5, 2010 at 10:54 am #

      thank youu🙂
      btw who is amy tan? I never heard of her :l

      • inandira November 7, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

        Amy Tan itu pengarang novel yg gue pinjem dari kaca dan belum gue balikin. Haha.

  4. febriy October 29, 2010 at 9:08 pm #

    happy b’day to your mom…….. such a long story, I think not all moms in the world have a big responsibilities to the siblings like ur mom, just 6 of 10 may be……😮

  5. ocky fajzar October 29, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    happy birthday to your mom😀 lovely mom😀

  6. Phinisi Boat October 30, 2010 at 3:25 am #

    Family is the best friend

  7. TUKANG CoLoNG October 30, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    moga panjang umur…:)

  8. Mbah Jiwo October 30, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    ora ngerti bahasa inggris

  9. oshinrae October 31, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    Happy belated birthday buat mamanya!😀 Wish all the best😀

  10. adizone23 October 31, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

    sekali lagi
    ada yang Ultah di Bulan Oktober

    Happy Birthday to your Mom

    mirip ya…😀😀

  11. Tedy October 31, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    selamat hari burung🙂

  12. vany November 1, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    happy birthday to your mom…
    may happiness always be with her…..🙂

  13. julicavero November 1, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    happy birthday buat mama km ya…semoga sehat selalu

  14. skydrugz November 1, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    woa…. mother’s day😀

    hope for happiness for you mom😀

  15. FiiYaa November 2, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    Happy Bday tanteeeee🙂
    moga selalu cantikkk dan disayang sama om🙂

    • nadiafriza November 5, 2010 at 10:56 am #

      thank you fiyaa🙂 glad to see you back! Kemana aja non?😉

  16. Goda-Gado November 2, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    waduh
    bhs Inggris nih…😦

    hmm,,, semoga di sisa umur mama kmu diberikan keberkahan dan kemanfaatan bagi diri mama kamu, keluarganya, dan sekitarnya

  17. ~jayaros November 2, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

    happy bday yaa …
    be happy …😀

  18. mylitleusagi November 3, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    happy birthday tante..
    wish u all the best…
    makan-makan yak.. (^_^)

  19. Deden Hf November 4, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    semoga mama mu selalu diberikan kesehatan.🙂

  20. Asop November 5, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    Ooouwh.. you have a great mom…😥😥

  21. dieka November 6, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    ehmmm #bukakamusenglishindonesia

  22. kiky November 7, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    selamat ulang tahun mama nadia! semoga sehat selalu…
    about your skin dark…hmmm….we both grow up in Rumbai, rite? :p

  23. bundadontworry November 8, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    Happy B’Day utk Mamanya Nad.
    Semoga selalu diberikan kesehatan dan kebahagiaan ,amin
    salam

  24. Goda-Gado November 13, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    tp dr fotonya memang mirip,,
    ya anak sendiri masak ga mirip??😀

    btw, kluarga2 terdidik dan cerdas ya..
    ITB dan UI euy….
    😀
    :-bd

  25. anita November 22, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

    Waaa…mama nadia mirip banget ma lu nad…-;p
    Happy birthday buat mama ya nad…:D

Leave a Reply

