[review] Movie: The Book of Eli

15 Aug

Turns out that it’s not THAT easy to make a fair and good movie review. Since I follow Mas Ve Handojo on twitter, I’ve been slapped thousand times by the fact that I didn’t make good ones. In fact, my movie reviews mostly spoil the plot to readers, like my lattest one (to read click here). For my lack ability of reviewing purely, I’m really sorry.

I watched this movie in the middle of July this year. Yes I know, it’s kinda late. As a big fan of Denzel Washington, I was really eager to watch it, though I missed the chance to watch it on the cinema. Believe me, I kinda enjoy the not-read-any-review-before-watching-the-movie-myself thingy. It did make me able to point out my own review Besides I have no expectation about the movie I’m gonna watch, so I won’t under or overexpect it.

Some said that at the beginning, the movie runs in a slow pace, which makes it boring, but I think it’s not. The director needs it to play that way to let the audience understand what kind of situation that Eli (played by Washington) deals with. It gives us closure about him, his character, and his objective in this movie. It explaines us how does Eli survive after the war (oops.. I hope it’s not a spoiler), though until the end of the movie, we won’t know for sure which future war that will happen.

Some said Washington doesn’t play well like usual, that this movie isn’t one of his best. I agree with the second statement, in my opinion he played better in his other movies, The Taking Pelham 123 for an example. But still, I think he does play well in this movie, in a weird way. My sister said “It’s kinda weird to see Washington other than in cop movie”.

If people blame Washington for his acts, I blame the director for the unexpected yet impossible truth at the end the movie. Whether it is Washington who doesn’t play well to deceive the audience about Eli’s handicapped or it is the director who doesn’t guide Washington well through Eli’s character. Which I rather choose the latter :p

Though, I think it will be better if only Eli isn’t handicapped and his ability that reveals in the end of movie is the one that makes him special. That he is able to do as the handicapped person does, though he isn’t one of them. Too bad it doesn’t play that way. For that, I only give 6.5 stars out of 10. If you are a big fan of Denzel Washington and or Gary Oldman, you shoud watch this movie Oldman plays better than Washington, for my sister wasn’t able to recognize him.

Oh. There’s also Mila Kunis in this movie, but don’t expect too much from her. She’s nothing compares to Washington more over to Oldman. And the role that she plays in this movie is… yeah right, whatever. But I salute her try to acts her best, which is not yet.

I write this post carefully with hope that I spoil nothing major to you who haven’t watch it yet. Enjoy!

46 Responses to “[review] Movie: The Book of Eli”

  1. FiyaFiya August 15, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

    Haven’t watch it..
    But s0oN I will
    ^^

    Nad,
    Nanti tUKeran Link yah

    • nadiafriza August 16, 2010 at 8:32 am #

      met nonton Fiy🙂

      boleh boleh. nama lengkap lo siapa?

  2. FiyaFiya August 15, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

    Yess
    Pertama..
    ^^
    Met puasa ya Nad buat bes0k

    • nadiafriza August 16, 2010 at 8:34 am #

      ahahah. met puasa juga Fiy🙂 semoga amal ibadah kita diterima ya hari ini aamin

      • FiiYaa August 17, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

        jeunk
        Link blog na dah terpasang di blog saya🙂

        • nadiafriza August 17, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

          okelah only Fiya, since you dont want to tell me your full name. udah saya pasang juga yaa🙂

  3. D3pd August 16, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    Selamat siang penghuni rumah yang baik…😀

    DIRGAHAYU RI 65 – Salam Generasi Muda Bangsa Indonesia

    Semangat ~ Sehat ~ dan Sukses Selalu

    Salam…😉

    • nadiafriza August 17, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

      makasi udah komen n mampir mas🙂

  4. FiyaFiya August 16, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    K0k nanya nama lengkap? -kayak lagi diinterview.. Hahaha

    • nadiafriza August 17, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

      ahahah🙂 gapapa dong.. biar kenal lebih dekat. kapan lagi Fiy majang nama asli selain di raport sekolah? hehe😉

      • simple-learning August 17, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

        Hey Nadiafriza, let’s exchange links too🙂
        My full name is Simple Learning …hehehehe

        • nadiafriza August 17, 2010 at 11:21 pm #

          ahahah.. keukeuh ya mbak😀 udah saya pajang ya ituu🙂

          *why anonymous mbak? kapan lagi bisa pajang nama lengkap selain di ijazah kan..? hehe😉

        • simple-learning August 18, 2010 at 9:44 am #

          Thank you so much🙂
          hmm, because you’ll be scared if you know my real name ..(LOL, i just feel not convenient to mention my name… maybe it’s just a privacy issue..hehe)

        • nadiafriza August 18, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

          oke mbak🙂 i can understand that. just tell me when you feel the time is right. i’ll be waiting hehe

  5. soe August 17, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    jadi kepengen beli tuh buku… mau dong….. mau dong….

    • nadiafriza August 17, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

      buku yg mana yaa mas? ini saya ngereview film loh..?

  6. Ifan Jayadi August 17, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    Belum pernah nonoton. Tapi review diatas akan membantu aku memahami alur dari film tsb

  7. si~j@ya August 17, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

    Yeee … ngomong linggis … mana ku ngertiss … hiks

    • nadiafriza August 17, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

      kan bisa baca postingan saya yang lain yang pake bahasa indonesia mas🙂

  8. adizone23 August 17, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    i don’t wacth this movie yet, but i like Danzel… my fave of his movies is Bone Collector (1999)… too Old… LOL

    Met Puasa Ramadhan 1431 H

    • nadiafriza August 17, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

      ahahah :)) yes, the bone collector is a good one. especially with Jolie inside hmm..?😉

  9. Asop August 17, 2010 at 7:10 pm #

    Denzel Washington…. the only movie of him I ever see is “The Taking of Pelham 123″…😀

    • nadiafriza August 17, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

      oh you gotta watch Inside Man sop. that movie is effing genious though Clive Owen is sparkler than Denzel. or simply Deja-Vu. those 2 were kinda new i think, before Taking of Pelham 123 of course🙂

      • Asop August 17, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

        Really? I know “Deja Vu”, but not “Inside Man”.😆 Clive Owen from “King Arthur” (CMIIW)? Of course he’s sparkler than Denzel.😆

        How about “Man on Fire”? imdb said it’s good.😀

        • nadiafriza August 17, 2010 at 10:37 pm #

          true indeed🙂 Man on Fire is one of old Denzel’s movie that is effing great🙂 especially he featured little Dakota Fanning there🙂 you also gotta watch it Sop

          yeah. Clive Owen is also great in Children of Men. have you watch it?

        • Asop August 18, 2010 at 4:34 am #

          There’s no way I’ve watched it.😆 I’m always late for movie things.:mrgreen:

        • nadiafriza August 18, 2010 at 4:48 am #

          now you got your preferences🙂 go get the movies hehe

  10. Dion Barus August 17, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    I’m stumbled upon your line, saying:
    “Believe me, I kinda enjoy the not-read-any-review-before-watching-the-movie-myself thingy.”

    Well, I have watched too many movies in too many occasions but knowing movie that I haven’t read or heard of before is more something fascinating.

    I still remember the day when I watch Pan’s Labyrinth for the very first time. I didn’t have any idea what that movie would like or where the storyline would go. The cover has caught me. And without any expectation I begin watching it and I found myself thrilled by it. Never had kind of that feeling before not for the ages, I suppose. Later, I know that Pan’s Labyrinth is the most recommended foreign movie and gained many positive reviews.

    And for The Book of Eli thing, I haven’t watch yet due to my lack of mood lately. But after reading your review, I would suppose it quite worth to watch.
    😀

    • nadiafriza August 17, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

      it worth if only you like to see Denzel or Gary Oldman (also played in Harry Potter series as Sirius Black and Batman series Captain Gordon) hehe. because the end of the movie is kinda disappointing imho.

      “without any expectation I begin watching it and I found myself thrilled by it” >> so true🙂 it also happened when I watched Bridge to Terabithia. i have no idea what the movie about and it did succesfully thrill me🙂

  11. duniaku August 17, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    wah pokoknya kalau denzel wasingthon patut di tonton dah 😀

    • nadiafriza August 17, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

      setuju banget🙂 kadang kala, walopun cerita filmnya ga begitu bagus, Denzel jadi penolongnya hehe

  12. Evet Hestara August 17, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    denzel washington? siapa tuh? saya baru denger😀 haha..nice sharing, sist! dgn postingan km, saya jadi tau artist baru😀 haha..apa sih..
    mau tukeran link gak? butuh PR nih😀

    • nadiafriza August 17, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

      wah doi bukan artis baru. udah main film sejak 1990an deh kayaknya😀

  13. Jabon August 17, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    kunjungan nich dari petani livejournal.com”>jabon,,,

  14. FiiYaa August 18, 2010 at 12:01 am #

    Wkekeke,
    Defira Amier is my full name sizt. Hehehe.
    Btw, already get d m0vie but haven’t watch it yet

    • nadiafriza August 18, 2010 at 1:34 am #

      nah gitu dong🙂 nanya nama lengkap aja susah banget sih Fiy hehe😉

      musti nonton kalo udah punya waktu yaa

  15. Asop September 7, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

    Eh, gue udah nonton “book of eli”. Menurut gue keren banget, setting-nya persis ama game PC Fallout 3.😀 Di pilem ini amerika udah gersang banget kan, gara2 perang dan kejadian tahun 2012. Sama kayak di game Fallout 3, cuman bedanya di sini akibat perang nuklir. Setting-nya sama, amerika gersang banget (wasteland). Pilem ini kurang tambahan mutant juga…😆
    Tapi, pilem ini menurut gue jalan ceritanya trlalu singkat dan terlalu sederhana. Terlalu linear.😦

    Gue juga udah nonton film2 Denzel Washington yang lain. “Man on Fire”, “Deja Vu”, ama “Training Day”. Pinter banget aktingnya si Denzel…😳
    Kurang “Manchurian Candidate” nih belom nonton… Ga nemu DVD-nya.😦

    • nadiafriza September 9, 2010 at 12:54 am #

      kejadian taun 2012 apaan Sop? kiamat..?😀

      wah gw belom nonton nih Training Day.. tengkyu referensinya🙂 ntar gw cari aah..

      harus nonton Manchurian Candidate! salah satu alesan gw cinta banget sama aktingnya Denzel hihihi

      • Asop September 10, 2010 at 5:38 am #

        Katanya kalo ga salah sih gitu, akibat badai matahari 2012 ama perang besar, ga tahu perang apaan… ya kan?:mrgreen:

        Hoooooo gue udah nyari di Vertex (Chelsea DVD) ga ada “Manchurian Candidate”…😥

        • nadiafriza September 10, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

          oh.. seinget gw US jadi gersang banget kayak gitu karena perang AJA.. ternyata ada badai matahari nya juga ya..? hmm gw mesti nonton ulang nih🙂

          perasaan gw dapetnya di Chelsea deh.. ga ada ya? gw udah lamaa banget ga Vertex. jadi ga tau deh.. cobain di Movie Room Sop..? *kalo lo seniat itu hehe*

        • Asop September 16, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

          Lho, di mana itu movie room? Di mana????? *heboh*😆
          Jual DVD bajakan juga? Murah ga?

          Gue dapet “inside man”, “the bone collector”, ama “american ganster” di vertex.😀 Semua pilem Denzel, dan belom gue tonton. Baru beli!😆

        • nadiafriza September 16, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

          serius lo demi apa ga tau Movie Room sop? dulu itu pas masih sma mainan gw vertex. kuliah awal2 ke movie room, soalnya lebih comfi. kuliah akhir2 baru deh ke chelsea, direkomendasiin temen soalnya lebih deket ama rumah hehe

          movie room itu deket total buah seger. sumpah gw lupa nama jalannya apaan :))

          udah nonton semua🙂 american gangster keren lhoo

        • Asop September 18, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

          Ooooooh kalo Total Buah Seger gue tahu, di jalan Trunojoyo itu kan? Deket2 situ yak? Deketnya jualan distro2 gitu gak?

          EH eh eh, setahu gue vertex itu ya Chelsea DVD.😀 Soalnya langganan gue di Vertex Tamansari bawah, dulu namanya itu, sekarang ganti jadi Chelsea DVD.😆

        • nadiafriza September 18, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

          iya di trunojoyo. tapi lebih tepatnya di jalan wira angun2 sih hehe. jadi bukan yang di jalan deket2 distro nya

          setau gw chelsea dvd cuma ada di cihampelas ama di dipati ukur, dan dia saingan ama vertex haha. jadi ga mungkin ganti nama :p mungkin pemilik tokonya ganti franchise :))

        • Asop September 20, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

          Aneh… yang di tamansari berubah nama jadi Chelsea DVD lho..🙂

Leave a Reply

