It’s Always Fun To Learn About Other Language(s)

6 Jul

In the past 2 months, I’ve been studying Russian (and French) from friends. My friends want to learn about English and I want to learn about their native languages. Of course English is not my native language. But let’s say that my English is much better than theirs, and somehow it’s a fair trade for them teaching me their languages and me correcting their Englishs. So, voila!

Some of my friends concern alot about formal-English-writing-rules, some of them don’t. I really need to remember whom I talking with, consider to their personal’s backgrounds that I know of, or I’ll ended up being criticize about it. For example, this is one of the conversation that I’ve had:

Me: yeah true. i really want to go to russia
Fr: It’s Russia. You have to write it in capital letter

At first I thought this friend has some sort of high-nationalism, because she only corrected about the capital letter in Russia but not capital letter for i (I). But then again she corrected me when I called her name incorrectly, according to her.

Me: so kate, how’s your summer up until now?
Fr: Nadia, again, it’s Kate. You have to write names in capital letters
Me: Wow, okay. Sorry if it bothers you so much. I’ll write in correct-written-English-orders
Fr: Yes, of course it does. Literature is my thing, remember?

She happens to be a freelance journalist in her spare times. Well, the fault is mine then :p

Of course I understand about formal-written-English-rules. It’s just the same with formal-written-Bahasa-rules, well.. some of them. But do we really need to care about those things in friendly situation? More over in a text chat?

We don’t follow formal-written-Bahasa-rules neither in an sms or an email or a chat on yahoo messenger, right? Because that would be awkward. Besides they’re all default in small letters, and using any capital letters would only result us to type more button on the keyboard, a Shift it is.

So why bother to write, “My name is Nadia Friza” if we can simply write “my name is nadia friza”? That’s why when my other friend asked me, “Nadia, why do you use small letter for letter i? My teacher said we have to always use capital letter for letter i”, my first reaction was grinned. Again, I understood it was about my written-english-style.

If only they read my blog, they’ll understand that I do concern about formal-English-written-rules when it is needed. Which I don’t think it’s needed in a text chat. Yet I kept explain him the reason, apologized for my behaviour, and continued to write in correct-written-English-order ever since.

This later friend explained to me that in Russian it is the word to address ourself that used in small letter (я – ya). The word to address the person we talk with is used in capital letter (Бы – Vy). Another word to address the person we talk with in friendly situation is used in small letter (ты – ty). Maybe that’s why the earlier friend that I mentioned before didn’t correct my small-letter-i-writting.

It’s the same with Bahasa, don’t you think? We use the word to address ourself in small letter (saya). The word to address the person we talk with is used in capital letter (Anda). Another word to address the person we talk with in friendly situation is used in small letter (kamu). By these facts, we could state that both Russian and Indonesian people respect the person they talk with.

What about English? You clearly know that they used capital letter for word that adressing themselves (I) and small letter for word that adressing the people they talk with (you). The same word (you) is used in both formal and friendly situations. Does that mean spoken-english-people are slightly arrogant? You decide it🙂

35 Responses to “It’s Always Fun To Learn About Other Language(s)”

  1. Raz July 6, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    forgive my writing, but i’m gonna write this in full-small letters. hha. geez, i never thought about this capital-small letter thing.. cape deeh ngomong sama orang rusia..

    • nadiafriza July 6, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

      wow🙂🙂 i couldn’t agree more🙂

      why do we need to care such things..? it’s not like we’re on a toefl test or something, right?😀

      • Raz July 7, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

        hu uh, as long as its understandable, it doesnt matter..

        you mean IELTS, right, where we really need to care about the caps and marks..😀

        • nadiafriza July 7, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

          oops you got me!😀 i never tried any IELTS before, so i dont know🙂

  2. Ifan Jayadi July 6, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    Benar sekali. Selalu menyenangkan jika kita belajar bahasa dari negara2 lain. Ada kepuasaan tersendiri saat menguasainya. Kalau saya, waktu SMA sangat getol sekali belajar bahasa inggris. Pokoknya tidak ada hari tanpa menghapal vocabulary. Namun sering dengan berjalannya waktu dan saya tlh bekerja, semangat belajar itu perlahan-lahan pudar. Banyak vocabulary yang sekarang sudah lupa

    • nadiafriza July 6, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

      menghafal vocab? wow.. saya susah banget banget deh buat ngehafalin kata2🙂 mesti sering2 dilatih kan

  3. ImUmPh July 6, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    I used to write “I” not “i” from beginning, I think it seem cooler write “I” than write “i”. hehehe😀

    • nadiafriza July 6, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

      want something cool? try to sit in a fridge for an hour😉 eheh *jk*

      • Asop July 6, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

        What is “jk”?❓

        • Raz July 7, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

          ‘jk’ stands for ‘just kidding’.😀

        • nadiafriza July 7, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

          a hundred percent correct🙂 thankies!

  4. Asop July 6, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    Hmmm… I think they write the word “I” with capital letter is because it only consists of one letter only. I’m sure it would be different if the word “saya” in english consists of more than one letter.🙂

    Do you realize that the word “english” should be written with capital letter? So it’s “English”, not just “english”.😀

    You’re lucky to have friends from Literature. She can teach you, and can fix all of your mistake. Maybe she’s worried that this habit of yours will “appear” in formal situation, like if you want to send an email to your lecturer.😉

    So, be thankful, there’s still someone who wants to correct your mistake.🙂

    • nadiafriza July 7, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

      umm what about article “a”? it’s only a letter too, yet we use it in small letter

      yeah. that’s why i wrote English instead of english in my post, right?

      send a message in english to my lecturer? do you really do that in your major?

      it’s a mutual situation for both parties. so no worries🙂

      • Asop July 7, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

        No, I mean, you never know if you’re going to study abroad, right? As you attend major there, using English, this is what I mean.🙂

        • nadiafriza July 7, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

          study master abroad? me want that🙂 aamin

          yes. that’s why i’m practicing my written english on my blog. we should always able to distuingish the usages, right..?

  5. julianusginting July 7, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    wanna hear you speak russian..hehe could u?🙂

    • nadiafriza July 7, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

      wanna hear me speak Russian? what would you do? call me? haha

      Умм я не много говорю по-русски) – umm I don’t speak Russian a lot

      Я учился русском после Май, ну я не еще понимаю его. – I learned Russian since May, so I don’t understand it yet🙂

      kalau lagi iseng, liat2 tumblr saya aja disini -> http://nadiafriza.tumblr.com/ hehe

      • Asop July 7, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

        Oh ya, bahasa Rusia itu punya aksara sendiri ya? Bisa gak dilatinkan? Di tulis dengan alfabet biasa. 😀

        Jadi keyboard di sana pasti punya aksara sendiri ya.:mrgreen:

        • nadiafriza July 7, 2010 at 11:58 pm #

          yup. namanya huruf cyrillic. bisa dikonversikan ke latin kok. sama kayak kanji juga bisa dilatinkan

          tapi kalo kata temen gw, lebih baik bahasa rusia ya nulisnya dalam cyrillic. jadi gw malah bingung kalo nemu bahasa rusia tapi tulisan latin hehe

          keyboardnya bukan dvorak ato qwerty. tapi kita juga bisa punya kok🙂 tinggal ubah setting keyboard di control panel aja, tambah jadi ada bahasa rusianya

        • Asop July 8, 2010 at 10:47 am #

          Duh, tulisan rusia bener2 unik ya… ga kebaca.😆

        • nadiafriza July 8, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

          kesannya misterius yaa🙂 itu salah satu alesan kenapa saya belajar bahasa rusia hehe

  6. Yohan Wibisono July 7, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    Artikel yang menarik sekali, semoga sukses selalu dan saya tunggu kunjungan anda di website saya.thx

  7. diazhandsome July 7, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    i usually write the un-formal-written-English-rules😀

    like this: i’m dias, r u nadia? etc.😀

    because: lazy to press shift or caps lock:mrgreen:

    bahasa inggris acakadut:mrgreen:

    • nadiafriza July 7, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

      unfortunately my foreign friends dont understand alot about chatting-abbreviation. they didnt even know what “btw” simply stood for before i told them

  8. andrysatrio July 8, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    eh bener loh itu ..
    gue juga ngobrol ama temen anak Poland, namanya Jakbu ..

    well, tiap gue panggil jakbu dia marah..
    harus pake J (capital letter) ..

    “My name is Jakbu not jakbu”

    lulz..😀

    • nadiafriza July 9, 2010 at 12:17 am #

      LOL. padahal ga penting banget kan ituu.. ga da bedanya coba *teteup*

  9. yoan sulistyo July 8, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    jadi inget waktu gwe EF dulu…
    malah berakhir belajar bahasa Greek gara2 guru gwe ngeliat gwe ngerjain soal kalkulus yang penuh dengan abjad Greek. hahahah…

    lumayan, gwe jadi bisa ngucap i love you n bisa mesen susu coklat di kafe yunani..hahahaha!!

    • nadiafriza July 9, 2010 at 12:24 am #

      guru EF lo orang yunani? wew.. bisa aja diaa

      p.s.: yo kenapa malah open id pake blogspot? kenapa ga tinggalin komen pake account wp lo? yg lebih aktif wp lo bukan?

  10. unendingdreams July 12, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    Great post! I usually don’t pay enough attention to the written language especially when i’m not using MS Word.😛
    By the way, have you been to Russia?

    • nadiafriza July 12, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

      thanks🙂 yeah me neither

      what? no.. unfortunately the fursthest country i’ve visited is thailand. i’ve never been to russia😦 have you?

      • unendingdreams July 13, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

        Thailand is nice🙂
        I have never either, one day i read about scholarship to russia, but i didn’t apply because of language problem. A friend went there on holiday and told me that the language is soooo difficult to learn.😦

        • nadiafriza July 13, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

          that’s the beauty of learning it mbak🙂 hard, sure is

          i also read about scholarship to Russia. but it wasnt a full one😐

        • unendingdreams July 15, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

          yeah, it was a part scholarship😦 i have no idea how to survive with the amount they provide. But it will be different for you if you can speak russia, perhaps you can work there to cover daily expenses🙂

        • nadiafriza July 16, 2010 at 1:06 am #

          but yours is fulbright and it’s a full one, right?

          yeah i know.. if only i can advance it in a year🙂

Leave a Reply

