The Creepy Creep

13 Apr

You might probably know that Bandung built up on The Кarst Plateu. Well.. plateu isn’t the correct word because Bandung isn’t quite flat. The city made up on the ancient lake – 2000 years old. Just to be right.. Bandung built up on The Karst Basin (to read the source click here).

I’ve known about this information long time ago, when I was still in the junior high school. My geography teacher made a joke about it:
“Java island would be sinking because of their overpopulation. Especially Bandung.. it built up on The Karst that could be creep anytime and the land would be shiver to the ground”.

Not so long time ago, when earthquake happened in West Java, my friend also told me about this. There is any possibility that Bandung would creep to the ground because of any earthquakes.

oh thanks for the reminder dear friend..

In the last few days, I became afraid of the facts that I’ve known for years. Up until now, I still don’t know whether it was just imagination or it did really happen.

When I sit on my study chair, I felt that the floor below me somewhat moving very slowly in a really short time. Which made me unsure whether it was just my paranoid imagination or there actually was a movement on the ground.

It didn’t happen only once, but in several times. The weird thing is it only happened at night. And only when I sit on my study chair. I never felt the sensation when I sit on my bed or anywhere else at the house. Not to mention that my bedroom is on the secondfloor of my house.

Was it just the tired-me or there was a real movement on the ground?

What do you think?

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
UPDATED (14/04/2010 2:42 AM)
Believe me.. the floor was really trembling. It wasn’t only me this time who felt it, but also my sister whose room besides mine. Plus I wasn’t on my study chair, but rested to sleep on my bed.

As soon I felt the slight-floor-shaking, I sent a text message to my sister,
Me (M): Ti, do you feel the floor is trembling?
Sister (S): Yes
Just as simple as yes.. how could she be so calm while I was paranoia next door?!
M: Is it only the 2nd floor, only our house, or the whole Bandung could also feel it?
S: Maybe it’s a small earthquake. Doesn’t make sense if it’s the house.. beside the ceiling doesn’t move a bit. If the house is about to fall to the ground, I don’t feel any movement on the wall

Just to make sure her argument, I woke up and went downstairs to feel any movement on the first floor. Nada! Craapp… what was happening?

I knocked my sister’s door and asked her the same question that I’ve asked her via mobile phone.
S: yeah I can feel the floor shaking.. coincidentally when I set my feet on it
M: are you sure it’s okay?
S: oh please.. don’t be such paranoid!

Oh, she got me!

First thing that I need to do tomorrow is to learn about the first aid after earthquake, definitely.

p.s.: Until now, the floor is still trembling. I’m sure I’m not imagining it. I surely can’t sleep.. again. ARGH

4 Responses to “The Creepy Creep”

  1. Asop April 13, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    Hey, that’s just because u’re tired!
    You’re scaring me…. -____-‘
    Since I’m here 3.5 years ago, only once I felt the earthquake, in mid-2009… And that was the first time I felt an earthquake…

  2. hellgalicious April 14, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

    waah
    why you always create a post with english?
    i don’t understand

    *bener ga yah tulisannya?

    • nadiafriza April 15, 2010 at 3:20 am #

      im sorry.. new habit maybe? hehe
      i’ll try to write another post in bahasa🙂

Leave a Reply

