Another Name Story[2]

9 Apr

to read the previous story, click here

I always think that name is one of the most important part of somebody. Name isn’t just about identity or something that other person would address us. Name is also the face, the landmark, and the pray which our parents whispered when they gave us our name.

The Face
When we meet someone new, our name is our face. Even if we never meet the person, we might have met the name of the person. What do you think about a guy named Angel if you actually don’t know him? I bet you’ll wondering his masculinity. You might not know that he’s actually a tough guy who works for the police, usually handles bad guys with his gun, and his real name is michaelANGELo. Perhaps his schoolmates bullied him and eventhough he’s not a student anymore, the name rests with him. See?

The Landmark
Our name is our landmark. Just by our name, people could know and or think who we are. Maybe we’re nobody. Maybe we’re somebody. Or maybe we’re somebody else. Until now I never met Samuel Mulia, the columnist of Kompas Newspaper. Maybe if one day I passed him on the road, I wouldn’t notice him. But if someone mentioned his name randomly, I surely would notice it. I would think about his columns and the great impacts of his writing on my every sunday morning.

The Pray
According to my parent’s belief, the name of the kid reflects what did the parents hope the kid would grow up to be in the future. The name is the pray. That’s why parents should think real hard about their kid’s name. Even better if the name has deep meaning. No one could carelessly gives name for a kid. I believe you’ll never wanted to grow up if your name is… Gengis Khan for example.

My name consists of 3 words, my first name, middle name, and the last name that happened to my family name. It’s not a real family name though. My last name is the abbreviation from my parents’ name. It somewhat became like a name of a clan (my friend told me this phrase) because my brother and sister also have this last-name-but-not-family-name. But lets not talk about it.

The first time I curious about the meaning of my name was long time ago, when I was in elementary school. I remember my teacher asked the students what were the meanings of our name. Some of us knew, some of us didn’t. Then she said:

“How could you carry something with you where ever you go if you don’t know what it is, what it really means?”

Ha! A very deep thoughts for elementary students but yeah.. she really got me. After school, I immediately asked my mother about it. Her answer about my middle and last name did satisfy me. But not with my first name. She said that it was just kind of a name for a girl. If only I could accept that kind of answer..

A friend of my father told me that in Bataknese Nadia means “which one”, in Bahasa it would be “yang mana”. Of course I also didn’t satisfy with this meaning. How could parents ask “which one” to their kid. What does that mean anyway? That my parents don’t know which one is their daughter? Brr..

Yesterday my friend gave me 2 versions which might be the origins of my name:
1. Надя (Nadya)
Short from Надежда (Nadezhda). In Russian it means hope.
2. Nadiyya
It’s Arabbian and it means moist, tender, and delicate.

There! That’s what I called as the deep meaning of a name. Hehe🙂

8 Responses to “Another Name Story[2]”

  1. Asop April 10, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    Ngeliat “the face”, jadi kepikiran “two-face”…
    *apaan sih OOT banget*

    • nadiafriza April 10, 2010 at 3:57 pm #

      what? musuhnya Batman? LOL bisa2nya nyambung kesana haha

  2. mia April 20, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    Nama itu kaya doa juga ya? Bahkan ada pepatah cina bilang kalo nama anak itu refleksi dari apa jadinya anak itu nanti.

    Nadia, namanya bagus, artinya pun bagus🙂

    • nadiafriza April 23, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

      whoa.. baru tau gw🙂

      hehe tengkyu miaa.. gw mesti terimakasih ama ortu nih hehe

  3. Mikhail June 3, 2010 at 4:10 am #

    I can’t say anything about the Arabic version of the name, only about Russian.
    Actually the name Надежда sounds like the word “hope” in Russian.
    Надежда – a feminine name of Slavic origin.
    Old Russian form of name: Надежа.
    Variations of domestic pronunciation: Надя, Надь, Наденька, Надюха, Надюша, Дюша, Нюша, Надёна.
    This is the common name in Russia.
    But there was a crazy time when children were given such compound names as: Гертруда = ГЕРоиня ТРУДА, Марлен = МАРкс + ЛЕНин, Элина = ЭЛектрификация + ИНдустриализация.

  4. ariemaica October 6, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    ‎​”̮ћϱћϱ (♥̃͡♥̃͡) ћϱћϱ”̮, siapa guru blg gtu nad? Ur first name so nice. Great learning.
    …..nadiyya ^^

    • nadiafriza October 6, 2012 at 11:12 am #

      kak arieee apa kabaar? kangen kangen iih.. dimana kak sekarang?🙂

      bu nas, the phenomenal teacher😉 apa kabar ya beliau sekarang?

      • ariemaica October 6, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

        Kangenn jg, yuk main tenis bareng d mnas…I’m still in the jungle, btw.^^
        Buk nas tho, dia punya sekolah skrg dkt kntor camat , yayasan mutiara namanya. Kyk It tihad gtu.

Leave a Reply

